Friday, March 24, 2017

REVIEW: 10 THINGS I CAN SEE FROM HERE BY CARRIE MAC.

Title: 10 Things I Can See from Here
Author: Carrie Mac
Series: Standalone
Edition: Paperback
Publication: February 28th 2017 by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Source: ARC provided by the publisher
Pages: 320
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, LGBTQIA+, Contemporary, Mental Illness

Synopsis:
Perfect for fans of Finding Audrey and Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.

Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.

Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?

PURCHASE THE BOOK HERE:
ISBN13: 9780399556258

!!! TRIGGER WARNING: ANXIETY/PANIC ATTACKS !!!
If you suspect you have anxiety or if you are diagnosed and can be triggered right away, I suggest you lielow with this book. It triggers page by page. I had so many attacks by reading this book but I survived (yay!) and loved it at the same time (double yay!). It also talks about different kind of abuse. I just don't want readers to dive into this one without being warned.

I wanna copy Kelly's note-format from the ARC. Here goes my review:

1) For those of us who suffer from anxiety/panic attacks no matter how mild or wild, this book is screaming TRIGGER. So if you think it would be hard for you, I don't recommend it. But if you wanted to get past the fear of being triggered, go for it.

2) The family dynamics in this book is just pure reality. I adore the twins, Claire most especially but I learned to appreciate Billy at the end. Billy is all fucked-up dad but he's trying his best to come back clean. And Claire is just so sweet and kind for a step-mom/mom and that's all wonderful and amazing.

3) I am always amazed by art. In this book, different kinds of art played such fantastic roles in the character's lives which put such a kick to it. We have great musicians and artists who portrayed how such talents can be an outlet or expression.

4) Bioluminescence is one thing I've only seen on Facebook. I've always dreamed of getting to experience and see it one day and I am truly happy that this breathtaking mystery is a part of someone's unforgettable experience.

5) This book is allows readers to see first hand how anxiety destroys lives. How it can control every single aspect in every day life, how it brings so much horror to the person with anxiety, how it also affects the people around and it could lead to unhealthy relationships. I can totally understand why people would find the MC annoying at times because of the repetitive way of thinking gruesome thoughts, but the interpretation of anxiety in this book was just so fucking raw there's no other way to interpret it.

6) I am just so tired of having a man save a woman from herself all the time. I may sound sexist but it's just so fucking freeing to see a woman be there for another woman.

7) Maeve and Salix's relationship is the best ever!!! Awkward, confusing, sexy, romantic and genuine! There were definitely off moments (like the one at the park) but they tried to make it work and I can't help but be happy for them. Oh, my heart!

8) Sexual assault is sexual assault. This book didn't romanticize it but showed the reality of it. It also touches drug abuse and domestic/verbal/mental/emotional abuse. Could be triggering but such important aspect of the book that shouldn't be dismissed. It is sad that these things are still happening in real life and I wish people would just stop harrassing one another. It truly breaks my heart.

9) Owen just filled my heart with warmth and joy!

10) Gnomeville fantasy story should be a separate MG book! It sounds captivating!

10 Things I Can See From Here is so emotionally invested that you really have to be ready before giving it a go. This novel puts you in a mood that is both electrifying and heart-filling!

Thank you Penguin Random House for the ARC!

"Go for it. Break the rules. Do something that makes you uncomfortable. Be a rebel"

No comments:

Post a Comment