Wednesday, May 7, 2014

BLOG TOUR (13): MAYBE ONE DAY BY MELISSA KANTOR.

I apologize for posting my review several days late for Dianne of Oops, I Read a Book Again (Admin of Pinoy Book Tours) Maybe One Day Blog Tour. It was honestly a very slow read that I almost DNF-ed it but thank you to Dianne for giving me ample amount of time to finish it and still post my review. I only gave Maybe One Day 3 stars but don't be fooled by shiny things. This is gonna be a gushing review, people.

Title: Maybe One Day
Author: Melissa Kantor
Edition: Paperback
Published: February 18, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 384
Source: Bought from Fullybooked, Fort
Category: Contemporary
Trailer: Not applicable.

AmazonBook DepositoryGoodreadsBarnes and NobleFullybooked

Synopsis:

Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness.

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn't sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

I've always wanted to read Maybe One Day because a) the first cover was stunning b) I want to read a Contemporary that doesn't focus on romance but friendship and c) I couldn't really pass the chance to be a part of a tour. It has been a long time since I participated in one. And I thought Maybe One Day was a very good starting point.

Maybe One Day absolutely ground my heart into microscopic pieces. It was terribly, terribly slow up until page 200 but once you past that excruciating slow pacing part, the good stuff come pouring over. It will hit you in the chest hard that you wouldn't notice you're choking with your own tears. God. This book is so emotional that 12 hours after reading it, here I am, struggling to come up with a decent review and it still hurts.

Livvie and Zoe are best friends for more than a decade. They share the same passion for ballet. Everything in their lives they've already planned. However, they were kicked out of the dance program and then Livvie got sick. Zoe was just so worried about Livvie because she didn't know how to live her life without Livvie around her. They love each other so much that their friendship is something they treasure and cling to. Zoe's just lost and hallow.

Well, the plot is that simple. Even the lines. Even the characters. Even the romance. Yes, there was a little bit of romance on Zoe's part but mostly, the story revolved around their friendship in the middle of a very tragic event. No one expected that their friendship would be tested this hard. What I adored most I guess aside from the fact that I could somehow relate to Zoe is that, Zoe did everything she could for her best friend. It was like she wanted to turn her back from the rest of the world just to make Livvie happy. And am like that with my best friend. He just have to say the word and I would do whatever I can to make him safe and happy. I adored Zoe for sticking with all they've been together that no matter how life-threatening Livvie's case was, she tried to be strong for both of them.

This friendship is super special that Zoe's journey just crushed me. My best friend left and I am absolutely feeling lost like how Zoe felt. It was hard to move on from a life you shared with someone for so long and the pain is constant. Everything reminds you of the person. Kantor perfectly captured the raw emotions and that struck my heart. Maybe One Day absolutely is worth all one gallon of tears I shed because. Just because.

It is truly beautifully worded.

"I thought, 'Oh, God, I did this thing, this stupid thing that's going to hurt [you].' And I didn't want to be the person who did something to hurt you, because I love you.."
"Time does not care how precious it is, how hard you are working not to squander it. Time passes."
 

Thank you so much Dianne and Pinoy Book Tours!

No comments:

Post a Comment